If you are interested in a career in the red meat industry, you can apply to join the Meat Industry Association Scholarship programme.

MIA awards both undergraduate scholarships, providing $5,000 a year for each year of study, and post-graduate scholarships of $10,000 for each year of study. They are aimed at students considering a future in New Zealand’s red meat processing industry. MIA also runs a mentoring programme for its scholars, including networking and educational events.  

The following scholars are being supported in the 2022 academic year.  Follow the links to find out more about them and their studies.

Current scholars


Angus Grant sq

Chloe Lennox sq 

Emma Yorke sq 

Angus Grant (2022)

Bachelor of Commerce (Agriculture) with Professional Accounting

Chloe Lennox (2022) 

Bachelor of Agribusiness and Food Marketing majoring in supply chain management

Emma Yorke (2022) 

Bachelor of Agriculture Science




Josh Tatham sq 

Lily Brankin sq 

Molly Goodisson picsq 

Josh Tatham (2022)

Bachelor of Marketing and Agricultural Innovation

Lily Brankin (2022)

Bachelor of Commerce (Agriculture)

Molly Goodisson (2022)

Bachelor of Science (Honours)




Nic Schroeder sq 

Megan Ross web pic 

Joelle Gatenby sq 

Nicola Schroeder (2022)

Bachelor of Agribusiness and Food Marketing majoring in Supply Chain Management

Megan Ross (2021-2022)

Bachelor of Food Technology (Honours) majoring in food process engineering


Joelle Gatenby (2021-2022)

Bachelor of Agribusiness and Food Marketing





 Joe Ward sq

Grace M web

Dominic Morrison sq   

Joe Ward (2021-2022)

Bachelor of Commerce with a double major in finance and strategy and marketing and entrepreneurship.

Grace Macdonald (2020-2022)

Masters in Management of Agribusiness

Dominic Morrison (2021-2022))

Bachelor of Commerce (economics and law)

 Hennie Pienaar Alliance Lorneville Oct 2020 008

Jack Coakley sq

Tully Paterson sq 

Hennie Pienaar (2021-2022)

PhD on the subject of ‘Managing Musculoskeletal injuries in the meat processing industry’.

Jack Coakley (2021-2022)

Bachelor of Commerce (accounting and finance).

Tully Paterson (2021-2022)

Law, Politics and Anthropology

Edwin Wills 0003  Jack Monckton 0002  Tessa Strang sq 

Edwin Wills (2020-2022)

Bachelor of Agribusinss (Farm Management)

Jack Moncton (2020-2022)

Business (Finance & Accounting)

Tessa Strang (2020-2022)

Bachelor of Agribusiness and Food Marketing

Ella Zwagerman sq  Thomas Sun sq  Thomas Walshe sq 

Ella Zwagerman (2020-2022)

Bachelor of Science in Food and Nutrition

Thomas Sun (2020-2022)

Bachelor of Food Technology with Honours

Thomas Walshe (2019-2022)

Bachelor of Veterinary Science


Former scholars

Ben Schilt web

Harriet Watson 0002

Haley La Franco pic

Ben Schilt (2019-2020)

Master of Environmental Management

Harriet Watson (2019-2020)

Bachelor of Agribusiness and Food Marketing

Haley La Franco (2021)

Master of Food Safety and Quality

Nelson Harper web

Todd Fortune web pic

Teegan Cosgrove 0001

Nelson Harper (2021)

Bachelor of Engineering (chemical and bioprocess)

Todd Fortune (2021)

Master of Design Enterprise

A copy of Todd's thesis is available on the Otago Polytechnic Website

Tegan Cosgrove (2019-2021)

Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) with a major in Mechatronics

Holly Phillips 0002

 Valencia Ngadi 0003 sq  Sam Pike 0002 sq

Holly Philips (2020-2021)

PhD entiled 'Forages for Fat'

 Valencia Ngadi (2020)

Food Technoloty

 Sam Pike (2018-2020)

Masters of Animal Science and Agriculture

The following people have also been through the MIA Scholarship programme since the scholarships were introduced in 2018:

Imogen Brankin 2020 - B.AgScience (Honours)

Joshua Kirk - 2019-2020 - B.AgScience

Kelly Ngan - 2019 - Bahelor Food Process Engineering

Lucy Hewitt - 2019 - Bachelor Agribusiness

Siobhan Brophy - 2019 - Bachelor Business

Dylan Kirk - 2018 - Bachelor Commerce

Emma Subtil - 2018 - Bachelor Commerce

Harrison Bowman - 2018-2019 - Masters Agribusiness

Isabelle Coates - 2018-2019 - Masters Agribusiness

Joni White - 2018 - B.Sc Honours, Biology

Joshua Hunt - 2018-2019 - Masters Animal Science

Luke Carman - 2018-2019 - Chemical and Process Engineering

Melissa Alfrey - 2018-2019 - Bachelor Engineering

Victoria Huh - 2018-2019 - Human Resource Management